It’s Just a Number

77,209

It’s just a number.  At least, that’s what I keep telling myself.

Yep.  That’s right.  That’s my word count on my current work in progress.  At the beginning, I was aiming for 60,000 words.  And I was very excited when I reached it.  (I did a happy dance)

But, I wasn’t done telling the story.  So I kept writing.  And I’m still writing, which means that number is only going to grow.

I think it’s okay – this way I can edit it down and still feel like I have a story.  I know I shouldn’t obsess about the word count.  I should only care if the story is compelling.  I read somewhere that writers shouldn’t even look at the word count until after the first rough draft is written.  Personnally, I think it’s a good way to measure your work.  If I’m aiming for 60,000 words and I reach 30,000 – that means I’m half way there, so my story better have something more than just pretty scenery and a great description of the neighbours cat.

Plus – it keeps me motivated.

So 77,209 words.  I’ll let you know how many survive after I start editing.

About adriennebarr

I love books!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

