My Summer Reading List (So far…)

It’s that time of year again. I love it when the air warms up and you can smell BBQ’s at every corner. It’s summer reading time.  So I did what I do best – I ran down to my local bookstore and picked up some new books.

Nothing beats the smell of a new book. Right?

I had to pick up the next book in the Vampire Academy series – Frostbite by Richelle Mead.  I would have picked up the third while I was there but my bookstore was all out.  Oh well. That’s what “Special Orders” are for. 🙂

And although I can’t wait to see what happens to Lissa, Rose and Demitri, I actually started reading Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater first.  Why?  It’s simple.

This is the process I go through when choosing which books to purchase.

1 – I look at the cover.  I know it’s not fair to judge a book by its cover but I do.  I can’t help it.  I can usually get a feel for what the book is about by the title, cover artwork or author.  If nothing sticks out to me, I usually pass it by.

2 – I read the back or inside covers. I’m pretty sure everyone does this.  Once again – if nothing jumps out at me, I put it back.  But if something sparks my interest, I move onto my next step.

3 – (And this is the strange one) I read the very last paragraph.  My friend Andrea scolds me for doing this.  But I hate reading stories that have poorly written endings.  Endings are important.  If the author doesn’t wrap up the story well, then there is no point in me investing my time and emotion into a story.

4 – Then I read the first chapter (or first couple of pages if the novel has long chapters).

So back to my original question.  Why am I reading Shiver first?  Because I read that first page and couldn’t stop.  I stood in the book store reading for almost half an hour before I remembered I was only on my lunch break.

The writing is hauntingly beautiful and Maggie Stiefvater describes situations so well, I honestly feel like I’m there with them.

Unfortunately, I’m on chapter 16 and I’m still having a hard time connecting with the main character Grace.  I don’t think it’s the author’s fault.  I just don’t understand Grace’s obsession with the same wolves that tried to kill her.  Personally, I would feel differently and I think that’s what I’m getting caught up on.

Still, I’m loving this book.  I’m going to give Grace a chance. I’m sure she can redeem herself before the end of the novel.

I also picked up two other novels, purely based on who they were written by.  I picked up the next House of Night novel – Burned by PC and Kristin Cast.  And Fire by Kristin Cashmore.  (I liked Graceling.)

So there we have it – my first round of summer reads.  YAY!

About adriennebarr

I love books!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

