A great way to procrastinate

I haven’t done much today.  I was going to continue editing my novel but somehow I ended up on Facebook and that lead to me watching Book Trailers on Youtube.

A few years ago, I didn’t even know what a book trailer was.  Now, publishing houses have their own Youtube channels dedicated to promoting their books.

Personally, I think it’s a great way to advertise upcoming novels.  Unfortunately, I think this only works for second or third novels in a series.  They aren’t like movie trailers.  You can’t put a video in a book before the customer reads it.  If the customer doesn’t know the novel is coming out – they won’t know to look for it.

I also think Book Trailers have to be careful to represent their images as closely to book as possible.  They don’t want to get into too much detail and portray the characters the wrong way.  If the main character has blond hair – please make the actor in the book trailer have blond hair.  It’s confusing if you don’t.

I don’t think this is a trend that is going anywhere.  I can forsee TV’s being installed at local book stores with Book Trailers running at all times (like at video rental places now).  Maybe we’ll even start seeing these on TV.  Who knows?

What do you think?  Book Trailers – Are they here to stay?

About adriennebarr

I love books!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

