Comfort found in dog-eared pages

Everyone has something in their life that gives them comfort.  My son has a stuffed dog.  Other people have warm blankets or special homemade meals. 

I have certain books.  When I’m down or in need of something to hold onto, I look no further than my poor stuffed to the brim bookshelf.  There are a few books that I know will never let me down.  Harry Potter is always a good choice when looking for adventure.  City of Bones is an excellent choice if you need a good laugh.  If you need to cry, look no further than My Sister’s Keeper. (The book was much better than the movie)

But today, I wanted something inspiring.  So I ran my finger along the spines of my books until I came across The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. 

If you haven’t read this already – you need to pick this up.  It’s a beautifully woven tale about Katniss and her struggle to survive in a distant future.  Panem is divided up into 12 districts which surround the Capitol.  Katniss is from District 12 – the poorest of the districts.  And once a year, each district is forced to give up one girl and one boy to between the ages of 12-18 years old to be entered into the Hunger Games.

What are the Hunger Games, you ask?  Well, let me tell you.  It is a televised event where the kids battle to the death and only one kid can survive.  That lone survivor is sent home to live a life of luxury and is celebrated as a hero.

Yes – it’s dark and twisted.  No one wants to hear about kids dying.  But Suzanne Collins takes delicate flawed characters, throws them into an impossible situation and creates a story that stays with you long after you finish the book.

So if you need to find me tonight – You know where I’ll be.  I’ll be nose deep in a book that absolutely takes my breath away. 🙂

About adriennebarr

I love books!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Comfort found in dog-eared pages

  1. adammcgregor says:

    There is a Japanese book titled Battle Royale that has somewhat of the same premise, mind you probably not the same level of characterization as Susan has created. I may just have to pick it up.

Leave a Reply

