August Reading List

So here is what I have read this August.   Any suggestions for what I should read in September?

HATER by David Moody

Started off well…

Didn’t like the second half or ending.  I’m still confused by it. The main character (Dan) changes and then I couldn’t relate to him anymore.  Just a reminder on how important characters are to a book.

DEAD UNTIL DARK by Charlaine Harris

Being a huge fan of HBO’s True Blood, I had wanted to pick up this series awhile ago.  The first book is a lot like the first season, but even though I knew a lot of the plot from watching the shows, I wasn’t disappointed.

INFINITE DAYS by Rebecca Maizel

This isn’t your typical vampire novel.  It’s about a human girl – who used to be a vampire and her struggle to fit into today’s society and escape her violent past. The concept – Phenomenal! The execution – a little disappointing. But I firmly believe this author will get better with experience (this is her debut novel) so I will be picking up the sequel.

FALLEN by Lauren Kate

Reform school doesn’t seem so bad when you have the handsome Daniel and Cam fighting for your attention.  Luce (the main character) is a little bit of a bore, but I think that’s because she doesn’t know who she is.  Overall, the setting is remarkable and language is vibrant.

THE MEN I DIDN’T MARRY by Janice Kaplan and Lynn Schnurnberger

This was my chick-lit fix for the week.  And I loved it.  Who doesn’t want to revisit all their past flames and see what happened to them? After her husband leaves her for a young fitness instructor, Hallie goes on an adventure most women dream about – a journey to revisit her past and see what happened to all her old boyfriends.

SHADOW KISS by Richelle Mead

This is the third book in the series (I’ve read Vampire Academy and Frostbite) and it was (as always) a pleasure to read.  Rose continues to be a badass and constant protector; even though she has to work through the death she has witnessed (some by her own hand).  Christian is still one of my favourite characters.  (I LOVE flawed characters.  They are fascinating to watch.) If you like adventure, drama, politics, mystery with just a hint of romance then you need to pick this series up.

THE RESTLESS DEAD by Various Authors (Edited by Deborah Noyes)

A collection of short stories that include a terrible poet who digs up his dead girlfriend, a wayward fiancé who learns a lesson in a haunted house and a vengeful sister who kisses dead boys.  All of which were very enjoyable (and not scary at all).

MOCKINGJAY by Suzanne Collins

This is the third and final book in the Hunger Games series.  And it was definitely worth the wait.  I love Katniss, Peeta, Gale, Prim, etc.  and it was nice to finally see these characters get some closure.  In the past, Katniss has fought for her survival inside the arena.  Now, she must be the face of the rebellion and continue to survive against incredible odds.

If you haven’t read this book yet – pick it up.  You won’t regret it.

About adriennebarr

I love books!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to August Reading List

  1. adammcgregor says:

    Very interesting list here, definitely different from what I remember you reading. The Hunger Games sounds rather interesting and I may have to give it a shot.

    As for some recommendations I do have a few you may be interested in:

    A Madness of Angels; or The Ressurection of Mathew Swift by Kate Griffen. Very good modern fantasy where a sorcerer was at one point killed by something dark and hungering for life, only to be brought back to bring down that which destroyed him. Hard to explain but Kate’s take on Magic and its evolution into modern day settings is amazing.

    Inferno (and its sequel Escape From Hell) by Larry Niven and Jerry Pournelle. A modern retelling of the first part of the Divine Comedy Dante’s Inferno. Great story of redemption after death and nice to see a modern take on a classic tale.

    That’s about it right now, there are others sitting on my shelf you may be interested in but I can’t remember them right now.

  2. adriennebarr says:

    Both sound pretty cool. I haven’t heard of either author but the description sounds awesome.

    I know – My reading taste has changed. The music I listen to is also different now. 🙂

  3. adammcgregor says:

    Really? Hmm we will definitely have to catch up. Been meaning to with Scott and you, just been busy lately with another move and dealing with health issues.

  4. Pingback: October Reading List | Bookworm with A Pen

Leave a Reply

