The Tenth Circle by Jodi Picoult

September is going to be dedicated to reading books my friends recommend.  I just borrowed WWW:Wake by Robert J. Sawyer (recommended by my cousin Cindy) from the library and have my name down for Book of Negroes by Lawrence Hill next (recommended by Ashley and so many other people).

I just finished The Tenth Circle by Jodi Picoult.  Big thank you to my wonderful co-worker Shannon for not only recommending the book, but also letting me borrow it.

I’ve read other books by this author. Keeping Faith was probably my favourite. My Sister’s Keeper is well-known because of the movie that came out a little while ago that was based on it. Great book – HORRIBLE MOVIE (But that is another long story)

I really enjoyed The Tenth Circle because of its layers.  It’s about the Stone family and how they are affected when their only child, Trixie, gets raped.  Daniel Stone (the dad) is a comic book artist who is currently drawing a comic book about a man who must go through the nine levels of hell (Based on Dante’s Inferno).  Laura Stone (the mom) teaches a college course on Dante’s Inferno.

Reasons why I loved it:

The Comic Book Pages – At the end of every chapter, the reader gets a taste of what Daniel Stone is drawing.  The comic pages gave the story depth and, in a way, you see another layer to the story. (Plus there are hidden letters in the comic pages that spell out a secret message)

The Language – Jodi Picoult is to the literary world what Gordon Ramsey is to culinary world.  She is a master of words.  There were moments when I would repeat sentences out loud, just so I could savor them.  There was one that said something like (I’m paraphrasing here) “…his words curled like wisps of smoke up around her ear…”.  Mmmmm…Delicious!

Two Sides to a Story – Picoult always seems to take a “black and white” issue and make it gray.  In The Tenth Circle, she showed both sides of the coin and let the readers know where each character stood and why.

So overall, I recommend this book.  It was a great read and the story will definitely stay with me for years to come.

About adriennebarr

I love books!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Tenth Circle by Jodi Picoult

  1. scott says:

    so when are you going to read the game of thrones ?? lol no rush just wondering how far down the list it is … it took me over two months … mind you i only read like three chapters a day and i read slowly.

    • adriennebarr says:

      LOL…it’s on my list for sure. I should have it read before the end of September or Early October. But I will let you know. I try to leave myself at least an hour every night to read and usually more on weekends.

      I’m almost done On Writing by Stephen King. Then I’m reading WWW:Wake by Robert J. Sawyer and then Game of Thrones. (Book of Negroes isn’t available at the Library until the end of September)

      You will be the first to know when I’m done 😛

Leave a Reply

