September Reading List

For September, I read books that were recommended to me.  Thank you to everyone who recommended a book.  (PS. Scott – I’m almost done A Game of Thrones…it will be on October’s Reading List 😉 )

The Tenth Circle by Jodi Picoult (Recommended by my co-worker Shannon)

Jodi Picoult does not disappoint.  Just like other novels I have read by her (My Sister’s Keeper and Keeping The Faith), she tackles a tough situation that doesn’t really have a “right” side.

It’s a great read that keeps you on your toes.  Picoult’s use of language is AMAZING!  Also, the comic book pages were a real treat.

How to be a Zombie by Serena Valentino

This wasn’t recommended by anyone.  My sister and I saw it in Chapters and I had to pick it.  It has lots of cool pictures.

What can I say…I like zombies. 🙂 Ok.  Moving on…

On Writing by Stephen King (Recommended by lots of people)

I’ve been hearing about this book for awhile.  Lots of people said they loved it.  I even have quotes up on my wall from this book. It’s a mix of Stephen King’s memoir and his advice on how to write novels.  It’s full of tough love and really great advice.  Every aspiring writer should pick up this book.

Wake by Robert J. Sawyer (Recommended by my cousin Cindy)

I guess I’m not as smart as I thought I was because I spent most of this book trying to figure out what was going on.  I use the Internet everyday and yet, some of the terms and slang used in this book was beyond me.  I read this book with my laptop on my lap so I could Google terms I didn’t understand (Just like how I read Shakespeare in High School)

I was thrown off because the author is a grown man and he writes from the point of view of a young teenage girl.  Some moments I felt were too over the top ( I rolled my eyes at the beginning when Caitlin declares that she wished her father would just say I love you.)

But, the plot was amazing.  Robert Sawyer became an expert in so many areas and made me believe that I could see the Internet through the eyes of Caitlin.   I was entertained for most of the book and liked the ending.  If you like Science Fiction – you should pick this up.

About adriennebarr

I love books!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

