Margaret Trudeau – Changing My Mind

Last night, my mom and I went to hear Margaret Trudeau speak about her new book – an event hosted by the Ottawa Writer’s Festival.

I wasn’t sure what to expect, mostly because I’m not an avid follower of Canadian (or any) politics.  But it turns out Margaret Trudeau’s story goes far beyond her life on Sussex Drive.  She was open and honest about her struggle with mental illness.  My favourite line was (I’m paraphrasing here) “The shame is not having a mental illness. The shame is having a mental illness and not doing anything about it.”

She is an eloquent and charismatic speaker and if you are lucky enough, go hear her speak. She has overcome so much and really became a voice for those suffering with mental illness.

Or pick up her book.  The newest one is called Changing My Mind.  I’ll be reading it soon as well.  And please, let me know what you think.  I always love hearing from you guys.

About adriennebarr

I love books!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

