October Reading List

A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin.

I borrowed this from my good friend Scott.  He had recommended it awhile ago but I kept putting it off because of how big it is.

I have mixed reviews about this book.  I LOVE the characters.  There are no cardboard cut-outs here – every character was so beautifully crafted with flaws and all.  I found myself really relating to Catelyn, wife of Ned.  She’s strong (like so many mothers) but not without her faults. (I was appalled with how she treated Jon Snow).

The plot was exciting and really kept the reader on their toes.  At one point, I wasn’t sure who I was rooting for.  The author did a great job of hiding his secrets and releasing them at the right moments.

I struggled with the history of the kingdom.  At the beginning, I spent far too much time referring to the appendix just so I could figure out what was going on.  Too much back story – not enough plot.  One thing I never like is being subjected to a million names at the very beginning of a novel.  If the character isn’t important to the plot, then don’t name them.  Martin seemed to name every character you came across. Were they all important to the storyline?  Not really.  The plot wouldn’t have suffered by not naming them.

The second thing I never like is when a forward/prologue introduces characters and back story’s that really have nothing to do with the story.  Yes – it set the mood.  Yes – it showed us how Will died.  Big whoop.  I could have skipped the forward and not missed anything.

Overall, if you are in the mood for an epic adventure that will introduce you to believable characters, then pick up this novel.  However be prepared to work for it in the beginning.  But once you get used to the names and figure out who the main characters are, you’re in for a great escape.

Stolen by Lucy Christopher

This book was addictive – I finished it within a few days.  It’s about a young girl, Gemma, who is kidnapped and taken to the Australian Outback.  The book is written like a letter from Gemma to her kidnapper, Ty.

But Ty isn’t the stereotypical bad guy.  He’s sweet, and patient and just wants Gemma to love him.  I suffered from ‘Stockholm Syndrome’ because by the end of the book, I was also relating to the abductor.

Even though this book deals with a traumatic experience, it never goes as dark as some other books I’ve read about kidnapping. (eg. Gemma isn’t raped, she isn’t beaten, she isn’t treated badly).

And I agree with the ending.  Lucy Christopher did a great job at wrapping up the story.  I can’t imagine a better ending.

The New Vampire’s Handbook

In this Handbook the Vampire Miles Proctor goes through the various subjects every newly turned vampire should pay attention to. What to eat, The various different types of covens, things that will kill a vampire – this book covers it all. (eg. make sure to bring extra socks!  You’ll have to read it to understand why)

I really liked how every fact was backed up with the science behind it.  This book explains why Vampires can’t go out into sunlight or why they need blood to live.  (I was never very good at science, so I thought some of it made sense)

This humorous self-help book for Vampires had me in stitches.  There is nothing like a good laugh (and a good book about vampires)

Hush Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick

I’m sure I’ve mentioned this before, but angels are the new vampires. Lots of Young Adult books are diving into world of fallen angels – Halo by Alexandra Adornetto, Eternal by Cynthia Leitich Smith are just a few to name.

Many reviews I’ve read compares Hush Hush to Fallen by Lauren Kate (which I read in August).  And, to be completely honest, I prefer Hush Hush.  Patch is far more interesting than Daniel.  And everything in Hush Hush seems more realistic.  Every emotion is justified. Every scene makes sense. Plus, I thought Luce (the main character from Fallen) was a bit boring. Nora (From Hush Hush) is someone I can relate too and someone I can empathize for.

I’m team Vampire, but this book almost makes me change sides. 🙂

About adriennebarr

I love books!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to October Reading List

  1. Jodie says:

    l read Hush Hush but haven’t yet read Fallen by Lauren Kate (In my next 5 reads) l really loved Hush Hush and the follow on!

Leave a Reply

