November Reading List

Soulless by Christopher Golden

A mass séance on a New York Morning Talk Show brings thousands of corpses back to life – and they are hungry. I don’t know what prompted me to pick up this book, but I’m glad I did.  Zombies. Realistic Characters. People running for their lives. Awesome!

I thoroughly enjoyed reading from the four points of view and watching as their stories slowly came together.  In the end, all the main characters (well…the ones who survived) end up at the same place and you can clearly see why each one was important and had to survive until that point.

The ending was bloody and awesome. A definite read for those who love the undead.

Midnight Pearls by Debbie Viguie

This is a re-telling of the classic Little Mermaid.  Pearl was the strange girl who was pulled from the Sea. She had only one true friend – Prince James.  But their friendship is threatened when two strangers wash up on shore and one of them is charged with trying to kill the king.  Because this stranger seems to know Pearl…and he has the answers that she desperately needs to know.

Who doesn’t love a good fairy tale?  This book was a quick read and flowed really nicely considering the twists.  At first, I was afraid this book was too predictable –  “Prince meets common girl, they fall in love despite differences, run away together, yadda, yadda, yadda.” But part way through the book, there was a lovely breath of fresh air and a new twist on the classic was introduced.  Now that’s more like it!

I recommend it for any girl over the age of 10 who fell in the love with the Little Mermaid story and wants to see it told a different way.

Room by Emma Donoghue

I heard a lot of hype about this book, so I picked it up mostly out of curiosity.  Turns out – it’s pretty amazing.  It’s told from the point of view of 5-year-old Jack.  (I have a three-year old so I took great interest in this).

Without giving too much away, Jack and his Ma live in Room. (Yes, Room is like a character in this book) He’s only ever known Room. (He’s never been outside).  Every once and while Old Nick comes to visit and drop off food and take out the garbage. Jack and his Ma don’t like Old Nick. (You can guess why)

This book broke my heart.  It’s told in Jack’s voice but I could see beyond what Jack understands and get the bigger picture.  The author, Emma Donoghue, did a fantastic job of building the layers in this story, even though everything takes place inside one room.

I felt for Jack’s Ma.  I could see what she was trying to do – build a world for her son in such a small space.  I can now see what all the hype was about.  This book is great.

About adriennebarr

I love books!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to November Reading List

  1. Andrea says:

    I’m reading Room right now and I’m almost done! It really is a great book!

Leave a Reply

