Falling in love…all over again…

I’ve been having a not-so-secret love affair with books for years.  But like most relationships, we’ve had our ups and downs.  Sometimes, I felt like books were disappointing me.  I wasn’t finding them interesting.  I didn’t feel like they were talking to me anymore. 

When this happened, I tried to spice things up.  I’d read books that I normally wouldn’t, in hopes that I would find that spark once again.  This was how I found some of my favourites – Jodi Picoult, Margaret Atwood, and John Irving.

A couple of years ago I was in the local bookstore, browsing for something that didn’t have a vampire in it, and I came across Jennifer Weiner’s Good in Bed.  It was fantastic; something that I could really relate to.  And even though it was great, I never managed to pick up another book of hers. 

A few weeks ago, my best friend Sara gave me a book to borrow that she said was amazing.  Now, for those of you who don’t know Sara – this is a big deal.  Sara doesn’t normally read (It took me years into talking her into reading Twilight) but she picked up a book and loved it.  (Yep – a real miracle!)

The book was Jennifer Weiner’s Best Friends Forever, and after reading it, I now see why Sara picked it up.  Some parts were so much like Sara and I, it was scary.  Any woman who has ever had a female best friend would relate to this book.  It has everything – betrayal, heartbreak, love, forgiveness, humour, revenge, and most of all – the bond between women. 

So – thank you Sara.  Thank you for helping me fall more in love with books.

About adriennebarr

I love books!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Falling in love…all over again…

  1. Sara Gardiner says:

    It was not a miracle….i have another jennifer weiner book almost done too!!! You can borrow that one too if you want!!!

Leave a Reply

