December – January Reading List

Matched by Ally Condie

Cassia lives in a society where everything is chosen for you.  At 17 years old, she gets matched with her future husband – Xander who is her childhood friend and neighbour. But something goes wrong, and for a second she sees Ky’s face on her matching screen.  And then she begins to wonder – can the society make mistakes?

Why I read it: I heard a lot of hype about it and loved the blurb on the back cover.

Was I disappointed: Absolutely not!  This book was amazing.

Favourite Character: Xander – he’s the sweetest person and everything he does just makes me love him more.

Best Moment: When she breaks the glass/frame holding the piece of material from her matching dress.  It’s a really defining moment – the kind that haunts you long after you’re done the book.

Best Friends Forever by Jennifer Weiner

All through her childhood, Addie knew she could depend on her best friend Val.  But after a betrayal in high school, they drift apart and Addie believes she’ll never see Val again.  However, fifteen years later, Val shows up on Addie’s front door scared with blood on her coat.  And Addie is the only one that can help her…

Why I read it: My best friend Sara let me borrow it

Was I disappointed: Nope.  I laughed my butt off.

Best Moment: When Val and Addie “almost” rob the bank.  I re-read that part over and over again because it was well written and it was a perfect example of who these characters were.

Would I read it again: Of course!  It was entertaining, witty, smart, humorous, depressing, and inspiring.

Crescendo (2nd in Hush Hush Series) by Becca Fitzpatrick

Patch is now Nora’s guardian angel, but even though they should be closer than ever, Patch seems to be pulling away and to Nora’s horror – moving towards the mean-hot girl Marcie.  But other things are bothering Nora – like her having visions of her dead father – and since she can’t go to Patch for answers, she begins to start poking her nose in places that she shouldn’t be. Dangerous places.  And soon discovers dark secrets …secrets that will get her killed…

Why I read it: Because I loved the first one.  I wanted to read this earlier but I had too many “to read” books to get through.

Best moment: Any time Patch was flirting with Nora.

Would I read it again: I will when the third book comes out.  The plot in this book was a little tricky to follow (a lot of time jumping and family relations to remember).  Not that I’m complaining.

The Secret Year by Jennifer Hubbard

Reading the journal of the high-society girl he was secretly involved with for a year helps high school senior Colt cope with her death and come closer to understanding why she needed him while continuing to be the girlfriend of a wealthy classmate.

Why I read it: I wanted to read something that didn’t have a vampire / werewolf / angel / time machine, etc.

Did I like it:  Yes – It was beautifully written.  I was worried about reading from a boy’s point of view (especially since the author is female) but by the second page my concerns were at rest.  I loved the genuine feel in this novel and truly enjoyed being in Colt’s mind.

Best Moment: The Thanksgiving dinner scene when his brother announces some big news.  I had a similar moment many years ago and had a good laugh reading this.

The Boy in the Striped Pajamas by John Boyne

When Bruno’s father, a Nazi Soldier, is promoted the whole family has to move to a place where there are no other children to play with and a fence that stretches far and cuts off Bruno from the other strangely dressed people. But while out exploring, Bruno meets another boy (from the other side of the fence) and they start a friendship that has devastating consequences.

Why I read it: I found it at the Arnprior Public Library and was intrigued by the back blurb.  So I kept reading…

Was I disappointed: No.  But I was surprised.  This book was amazingly easy to read even though the topics are harder to swallow.  It’s told from Bruno’s point of view and he talks like any child, not fully understanding everything he sees.  (Room by Emma Donoghue is also like this)

Best Moment: I hate to say it – because it’s also the most heartbreaking.  But that last chapter is haunting.  I don’t want to ruin it for anyone but if you have read it – then you know EXACTLY what I mean.

About adriennebarr

I love books!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

